Mural depicting women dancing and an activist with a megaphone

Founded in 1928, EBCF was one of the nation’s first community foundations, now serving people across Alameda and Contra Costa counties. We partner with donors, fund advisors, social movements, and the wider community to eliminate structural barriers, advance racial equity, and transform political, social, and economic outcomes for all East Bay residents.

Over the past several years, the Foundation has started implementing new ways of partnering with donors, social movements, and the community at large. In addition to our grantmaking, we engage in advocacy within allowable limits to advance racial justice. We work closely with our donors as partners and leaders in this journey.

Mission & Vision

As we have embraced our commitment to racial justice, we are becoming more than just a philanthropic services organization. In order to meet our bold goals and vision, we are pursuing a community foundation model that looks at new ways to educate, engage, and organize its donors and the broader community.

Our Work

Over the past several years, the East Bay Community Foundation has started implementing new ways of partnering with donors, social movements, and the community at large.

We are committed to aligning our financial assets with our mission by collaborating with a diverse team of financial managers and supporting community-based financial institutions.

Our grantmaking approach begins with the belief that our role as a philanthropic partner is to support Black-, Indigenous-, and people of color-led (BIPOC-led) efforts to transform lives, communities, organizations, and systems in order to advance social, racial, and economic justice in Alameda and Contra Costa counties.

Financial Statements

Transparency and openness are critical to achieve our vision of the future. We post our IRS 990s, audited financials, and quarterly investment reports on our website.

Our Staff

Our staff are dedicated experts committed to transforming our community and advancing racial justice and racial equity. They bring their expertise and their deep connection to the East Bay to their work every day.


Our office in Oakland is located on the homelands of the Lisjan, Ohlone, and Muwekma peoples. We respectfully acknowledge and honor the Indigenous people who have stewarded the land for generations past, present, and future.

East Bay Community Foundation
De Domenico Building
200 Frank H. Ogawa Plaza
Oakland, CA 94612

Get Involved Today

Meet Our Team Become A Partner Subscribe Make A Donation